Scenic Route to Alaska: Warrington gives me so many feelings

Warrington Album Cover, Courtesy of Scenic Route to Alaska
Warrington Album Cover, Courtesy of Scenic Route to Alaska

I have entire collection of songs that I love about Paris, and I don’t even like Paris to be honest. The place was ridiculously expensive, the French are assholes, and they don’t party nearly as hard as the Czechs, Germans, Brits, and Swedes.

Anyway! One of my favourite songs off this playlist is Scenic Route to Alaska’s “Paris”, off of their sophomore LP, Warrington. The Edmonton folk trio released the single in spring and it’s been stuck with me ever since for a few reasons. First, it’s catchy as hell with it’s “oooooohhhhss” and steady beat. Second, the video (below) is hilarious as they try their hand at acting. Lastly, I may have been in Paris after leaving a little travel romance and the lyrics remind me of what it’s like to be in the most romantic city alone with the fresh thought of someone in you mind (hint: it can be brutally refreshing with lines like “Take it to the water, sail it out to sea. If the tides bring it back, it was made for you and me.”)

The entire album is full of songs that pull you in for different reasons, even the Instrumental track has it’s own vibe that makes you want to blast it down the road, which I argue makes it their best release to date.

There’s a divide in the album that gives it a lot of weight. While there are many love or heartbreak songs including their classic “Waking Up My Heart” (the folk fest song according to my friend’s mom), there are a few songs that deal with a heavier subject matter, although you might not realize it.

Singing along to the chorus of “I know” came pretty naturally, but the song is one of three that deal with losing a loved one, along with “Fall” and “For Dot”. All three take something so personal with some specific stories and connect it to nearly anyone who has lost someone close, especially the chorus for “Fall”:

I know nothing can live without another dying

and I know you gave all you could

before you gave up trying

So thank you for the life that you gave

Death isn’t a nice thing to think about, but it’s a part of life, and it’s comforting to have music that reminds us this, so thank you Scenic Route.

The band are also playing a show to raise money and awareness about mental health issues on October 9 at Yellowhead Brewery. Visit the event page to learn more and help.

Stream their music here.

Buy it here.

Leave a comment